India includes in G7 Summit 2020


India includes in G7 Summit 2020. Recently India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi has received an invitation from U.S. President Donald Trump to attend the upcoming G7 Summit 2020. Last year, Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi was invited to attend the summit as a special guest. Currently, G7 countries include Britain, France, Canada, Germany, Italy, and Japan in addition to the US.

The US President postponed the recent G7 Summit 2020 for September. The conference was to be held by video conferencing due to COVID-19 in June 2020. In a tweet, the US President gave information related to G7 Summit 2020. Trump wrote I don’t think the G-7 accurately reflects what is going on in the world. It is a very old group of countries. ‘

Trump said that he wants some changes in it and he wants to include countries like India, Australia, Russia, and South Korea. Specialists are seeing this step taken by America as a political move. Due to the Corona epidemic, America is constantly aggressive on China and that is why it wants to pressure China from all directions. But even then America says it is favoring new countries to join this group according to the time.

China expressed resentment at G7 Summit 2020

China reacted angered after the move by the US. Chinese spokesman Zhao said that all international organizations and conferences should be fostering mutual trust between different countries so that multilateralism can prevail and promote world peace and development. ‘ He said that we believe that this is the role of an overwhelming majority of countries around the world. He said that any factionalism attempt against China would fail.

Chinese President Xi Jinping
Chinese President Xi Jinping (Pic: The Print)

Germany and Russia also turned down the proposal of G7 Summit 2020

Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel will also not attend the g7 summit 2020 this time due to the spread of the Coronavirus. On the other hand, Russia has also rejected the invitation given by Trump. Russia’s Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said, “In general, the idea of ​​G-7 expansion is a step in the right direction, but it does not give representation (representation) in the true sense.” For example, it is clear that nothing can be done without China in tackling serious global issues.

Maria said, right now we have a very competent and already tested G20 format, BRICS also. Apart from this, there are many other forums that have political and economical influence in the world.

Russian President Vladimir Putin
Russian President Vladimir Putin (Pic: Time)

Russia has a very old relationship with this group. Russia joined the group in 1998, after which the group was renamed as G8, but after Russia was expelled from the membership in 2014 after the Crimea controversy, the group was again called G7.

India welcomed G7 Summit 2020 invitation

India has always offered to work with organizations in the world. India has often demanded reforms in various global communities. India has welcomed this after the invitation of Donald trump’s g7 summit 2020. The Government of India believes that the inclusion of KO in a group like G7 will further strengthen the strategic relationship between the US and India and both countries together will contribute significantly to world peace.

What is G7 Organisation

The G-7 is a group of the top seven developed economies in the world. This includes the United States, Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and Canada. The heads of these countries meet every year to discuss various global issues including climate change, security, and economy.

The G7 is an international intergovernmental organization with seven largest countries in the world. They account for more than 58% of the global economy with the largest economy (global net worth at $ 317 trillion). In addition, the G7 Country GDP is 32% of the world’s total GDP. The European Union has also been invited in the G-7, in addition to these countries keep inviting different countries under G 8 + 5.

Foundation of G7

The G7 was founded in 1975 but at that time there were only 6 countries in it, hence it was known as G6. But with the incorporation of Canada in 1976, the number of its member countries rose to seven and its name was G7.

The G7’s headquarters are not fixed. Every year in the country where the G-7 conference is to be held, its head office is made till the next conference.

During the 1973 oil crisis, when members of the Petroleum Exporting Countries Organization, OPEC, cut oil supplies and the supply of countries supporting Israel in the Yom Kippur War. Inspired by this, the G-7 was formed to discuss economic and political issues. Since the oil crisis, the group has expanded to cover a large number of international issues such as energy, security, climate change, poverty, trade, etc. Today, G7 Member countries are considered the richest and developed countries in the world.

G-7 Countries Flag
G-7 Countries Flag (Pic: Time)

Objectives of G7

  • The G7 was launched by the US and its allies to fight the global economic crisis in the late 1970s.
  • The G7 discusses issues such as financial crises affecting the decade since its formation and solutions to deal with specific challenges. It also discusses other issues such as economic changes, terrorism, arms control, and drag smuggling of post-disintegration Soviet nations.
  • The G7 has no dues or a scheduled headquarters. Decisions taken by countries during the annual summit are illegal.

Web Title: India includes in G7 Summit 2020
Featured Image: Modi with Trump at G7 Summit 2019 in France (Pic: Twitter)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

COVID-19 Update
%d bloggers like this: